AeroElectric Alternative?

John DiStefano

Builders;

Greg Richter Created a guide to aircraft wiring. It is entitled "Aircraft wiring for Smart People...A Bare Knuckles How to Guide".(see the link below) An obvious dig at the author of the Aeroelectric Connection. But, I read it from cover to cover anyway. Greg makes some compelling arguments that seem to be a contradiction to the "Connection".

Such as:

using a 24V system

1 alternator

PTC fuses vs CB's or fuses

teflon wire

But then I stumbled across this:

http://www.aeroelectric.com/articles/richter/response_1.pdf

it is a critique of Greg's guide, page by page by Bob Nuckolls. Seems like Bob and Greg are in a pissing match.

So, why bring this up you ask. Well, I liked Greg's simplistic approach, kind of boiling down Aeroelctric Connection down to its nuts and bolts in just 37 pages. But, after reading Bob's critique...I don't know.

I am NOT an engineer, I am a pilot. To me, the "Connection" is great, but sometimes more than I NEED to know, You know?

So, my question to you all, If you have read the "connection" and Greg's guide (and Bob's response) what do you think? Are there 2 ways to skin the cat here? Are both acceptable, safe reliable methods and techniques ETC? or should one be ignored...

Thanks and I look forward to your responses

JD

They are two different approaches, both with merit, but for different reasons.

Color coding is good, but so is labelling.

Teflon, Tefzel, whatever non-noxious, nonwearing insulation.

Switches or no, simple vs flexible.

Greg's is great for the simple "plans method" which will give you 90% of what you need with an acceptable reliability. Simple, effective and standardized - although I don't agree with the 24 volt requirement. I saw a dozen single failure points I don't want!

Bob's is a recipe book with proven examples to take you the rest of the way.

Note Bob's "guarantee" - everything is guaranteed to fail - plan the failure so it's only an inconvenience.